Home > News Articles > Sources say the darndest things

Sources say the darndest things

We’ve seen movies with anonymous phone calls, tipping off the authorities to criminal activities, or even TV crime dramas with worried tipsters, who are reluctant to give their names to the police. In reality, scenes like this rarely happen. Callers to our fraud hotline willingly provide us with information without hesitation.

Typically, our sources are so infuriated by the subject’s criminal behavior that they are willing to risk having their identities known. They offer to assist with our investigation by capturing audio and video evidence, which could serve as admissible evidence in court.

To illustrate this, here are a few examples of the countless real statements sources have provided to our fraud hotline agents during their initial calls to us:

  • I have over 1,000 videotapes of the subject I secured from a permanent, continuous (24/7 year-round) stationary surveillance camera I installed three years ago overlooking his property;
  • I have audiotapes of the subject bragging to her sister about working more than 40 hours weekly while fraudulently receiving lost time benefits. I intercepted her cellular phone conversations. (The source then played several recordings through the phone.)
  • You are welcome to video the subject from my guest bedroom. It offers an unobstructed view of the subject’s residence and vehicles.
  • Do you want me to provide you with the plate numbers of the subject’s vehicles? I can easily get them for you and would be happy to do so.
  • Do you want me to follow and video the subject traveling to and from work? I have a good camcorder and I know how to use it.
  • Your agents will have a great view of the subject if they check into room number…of the…hotel. I know because I tested it yesterday. It is perfect.
  • I know you won’t need me to testify in court. However, I want you to know I am willing to testify against him or do whatever else you need to bring him to justice.
  • I don’t need any confidentiality. In fact, I want the subject to know who turned him in. I would like to tell him to his face that I reported him to BWC.

There is no question how far our sources willing to go. They get involved because they are hard-working citizens and believe that others should be, too.

Despite this willingness to share information, we instruct each source to protect their personal safety and if there are callers who worry about being subpoenaed to testify in court, we assure them this will not be the case.

Additionally, we ask them to avoid contact with the subject and to permit us to independently conduct a thorough and objective investigation. We advise sources that we will re-contact them regarding the investigative outcomes. We thank our sources for their interest in justice and willingness to join us in protecting the integrity of the workers’ compensation system in Ohio.

If you suspect workers’ compensation fraud, call 1-800-644-6292, visit bwc.ohio.gov, or visit facebook.com/ohiobwcfraud.

Categories: News Articles
  1. No comments yet.
  1. No trackbacks yet.

Leave a Reply

